Skip to content

A brief break for movie style: The Brother’s Bloom

May 13, 2010

One of my favorite bloggers regularly posts on movie style. He chooses a movie that has great style (my favorite choice of his has to be 2046 because I love the movie and it really is a stylish film) and examines the look. I really love the idea and wanted to do it myself. Please forgive my lack of expertise  (this definitely isn’t going to be polished) because I am not an expert – or even knowledgeable- on fashion. In the classic layman’s way, I just know what I like! Here’s my attempt (please note I absolutely owe the format and idea to this guy):

Film: The Brother’s Bloom
Year:
2008
Director:
Rian Johnson
Costume Director:
Beatrix Aruna Pasztor (what a great name!)

Style: Nonchalant/careless elegance. Loose ties, mussed hair, and classic beautiful lines. A  melding of  style elements from a variety of decades (I’d range it from the 1930’s to the 1990’s): bowler hats, Jackie O coats, clunky boots, Chuck Taylor’s, tailored suits, pinstripes, fur, tweed… Women in  men’s clothing: suits, ties. Occupation wear: aviation. Gloves.

Feels like: I don’t know enough about fashion to fill this part in. What do you think?

Adieu,

marimaru

What I’m Loving:

I’ve reached the point in life where friends start getting married, which means finding appropriate wedding attire. There are a lot of rules and it can be frustrating to find something that is appropriate and that you feel great in. That’s why I’m loving these items. The dress is just right – one that can be dressed up or down, depending on the formality of the wedding. It is a nice color that isn’t too dark for Spring/Summer weddings, or too light for Fall/Winter weddings. You won’t steal the bride’s thunder, but, importantly, you’ll feel pretty yourself. Perfection. I want to wear it with lilac tights, but haven’t had luck finding them so I chose these as a nice stand-in.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 6:21 am

    I loooooove the style in this movie. While we were watching it I kept mentioning how pretty “everything” was…. now I realize it was most likely just the fashion.

Leave a Reply

