Skip to content

In which we set some goals…

May 4, 2010

So, because I’m me and can’t seem to just do things without commenting on them, nor can I just be normal and enjoy my time off even if it happens to be my favorite time of year I’ve come up with a summertime resolution/project. This summer I decided to set the goal of  finishing my teen novel. I started it ages and ages ago, and just got out of the habit of working on it (like the ten million other projects I have “waiting to be finished”).

When I started I was inspired by the Once Upon a Time is Timeless series that Simon & Schuster puts out. They aren’t by any means great works of literature, but I love them (some more than others admittedly).  They are all re-tellings of fairy tales which just about sends me into palpitations every time I think about it. I have loved fairy tales, myths, legends, folk tales, etc. since I was a little girl and that fascination has, if anything, only increased as I’ve grown. I love how different authors can flesh out different aspects of stories that have been told for hundreds of years. Some of my favorite novels are beautiful, deep, spanning, and even spic re-tellings of fairy tales.

In this vein my books is a very teen-y retelling of the Greek myth of Atalanta. It’s nothing fabulous, but I definitely think it isn’t the worst thing I’ve ever read. And with that sparkling recommendation I will leave it. Hopefully setting it down in this public space, I will feel more determined to complete it.

What unfinished projects are you dying to revisit  “when you have the time…”?

Adieu,

marimaru

What I’m Loving:

Today I am loving teen authors. Hmmm, that could be easily misconstrued. I am loving authors of girly teen books. That’s better!

Cameron Dokey. She writes my favorites of the Once Upon a Time… series (including the one picture above). They are, for the most part, light and lovely. Easy to read but refreshing- like honeydew on a summer day.

Kara Dalkey. Sadly, especially because her books are  so darn interesting and different (kind of like this one), many of Kara Dalkey’s books are out of print or hard to find. This and this are two of my very favorites and I truly think she has gift for telling an old story with a new twist.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 7:49 pm

    I followed a comment of yours home to you, to find Kara Dalkey–coincidence! I just reviewed Little Sister, and just requested Heavenward Path from the library! I am looking forward to it lots….

    I hope you like Voices of Dragons….

    • marimaru permalink*
      May 13, 2010 8:04 pm

      I feel like these kinds of coincidences happen so frequently with posts about books (particularly JUV/YA/Teen books)! Example: my book club last month was discussion the rise of Steampunk. That same week I came across some of your postings on the genre, and then a few days later Fuse#8 had a post on it that was almost like a stenographer had recorded our conversation and posted it online!

      I hope you get The Heavenward Path soon. I enjoyed it very very much and like it even more than I like Little Sister (which was quite a bit). I’ll be looking forward to your review!

Leave a Reply

